(Photographs from the reception are available in the photo gallery.)

AUSTIN, Texas – The Texas Public Policy Foundation today presented awards to the 78th Legislative Session's policy leaders and heroes.

"These men and women have served the people of Texas with distiniction," said Wendy Gramm, Ph.D., chairman of the Foundation's Board of Directors. "We looked for the elected officials who have truly distinguished themselves on issues the Foundation had identified as crucial to the state this Session."

Receiving the "Lone Star Leadership Award" were Governor Rick Perry, Lt. Governor David Dewhurst, Speaker Tom Craddick, state senators Ken Armbrister, Jane Nelson, Florence Shapiro, and state representatives Dennis Bonnen, Dianne White Delisi, Kent Grusendorf, Talmadge Heflin, Mike Krusee, Kenny Marchant, Joe Nixon and Arlene Wohlgemuth.

The leadership award was presented for "a commitment to the principles of liberty, good government and sound policy through their leadership during the 78th Legislature."

Meanwhile, the "Texas Hero Award" was presented to state representatives Carl Isett, Bill Keffer, Glenn Lewis, Larry Taylor and Ron Wilson for having "actively promoted sound public policy during the 78th Legislature."

"Texans wanted elected officials to roll up their sleeves and work hard for them this Session," said the Foundation's president, Brooke Leslie Rollins. "We're proud of the work these men and women did for Texas."