Texas Public Policy Foundation
901 Congress Ave.

Texas School Finance Summit: Providing Texans with a 21st Century Education
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
Texas Public Policy Foundation
901 Congress Ave | Austin, Texas

To provide students with a 21st century education, Texas needs to modernize its broken school finance system. Please join the Texas Public Policy Foundation, Texans for Education Opportunity, EdChoice, and Reason Foundation for a daylong event in which experts and policymakers will discuss what’s wrong with the current system and explore bold ideas for reform. As the state’s school finance commission prepares to convene, now is the time to begin looking forward to the future of education funding in Texas.

Tentative Agenda
Subject to change. Please check back for updates.

10:45 AM – 12:00 PM Panel SESSION I – Which Education System Would Best Serve Texans?

Tim Lambert, Chair, Texas Home School Coalition
Jonathan Butcher, Senior Policy Analyst, Education Policy, Heritage Foundation
Laura Colangelo, Executive Director, Texas Private Schools Association
Marian Wallace, Education Policy Advisor for Lt. Governor Dan Patrick
Moderator: Dr. Kevin Roberts, Executive Vice President, TPPF

12:10 PM – 1:00 PM LUNCH 

Stacy Hock, Chair, Texans for Education Opportunity
Aaron Smith, Education Policy Analyst, Reason Foundation

1:15 PM – 2:30 PM PANEL SESSION II – Are Texans Getting Their Education Money’s Worth?

Sen. Larry Taylor, Chairman, Texas Senate Education Committee
Michael Barba, Associate Director of Public Policy, Texas Catholic Conference
Dr. Benjamin Scafidi, Director of Education Economics Center, Kennesaw State University
Stephanie Matthews, Director of Center for Economic Freedom, TPPF
Moderator: Lisa Snell, Director of Education and Child Welfare, Reason Foundation

2:30 PM – 2:50 PM – Tiff’s Treats and coffee break

2:50 PM – 4:05 PM PANEL SESSION III – Which Education Funding Source Best Supports Texans’ Prosperity?

Rep. Tom Oliverson, Texas House of Representatives
Rep. Andrew Murr, Texas House of Representatives
Dr. Dean Stansel, Research Associate Professor, O’Neil Center for Global Markets Freedom at SMU
Dr. Vance Ginn, Director of Center for Economic Prosperity, TPPF
Moderator: Honorable Chuck DeVore, VP of National Initiatives, TPPF


This event presented by: