AUSTIN, Texas – Most of the state’s legislative offices have registered to attend the Second Annual Policy Orientation, which focuses on the issues facing Texas by bringing together legislators and policy experts from across the state and nation.

This year’s Orientation will be held January 28th and 29th at the Driskill Hotel in Austin.

More than 40 elected officials and experts will provide insight and comment on nine important issues.

Elected officials who are confirmed speakers and panelists include Gov. Rick Perry, Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst, Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson and Agriculture Commissioner Susan Combs, as well as senators Frank Madla and Kyle Janek, and representatives Kent Grusendorf, Glenn Lewis, Carl Isett, Talmadge Heflin, Robert Puente, Dianne White Delisi, Arlene Wohlgemuth, Mike Krusee, Gene Seaman, Bill Keffer and Larry Taylor.

The Orientation will also feature the internationally acclaimed Maurice McTigue, former New Zealand Parliament member, as well as nationally renowned school finance experts Dr. Caroline Hoxby, Dr. Eric Hanushek and Dr. Paul Peterson. Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform, will also be participating. Other panelists include economist Dr. Richard Vedder, Dick Lavine, Anne Dunkelberg, Drew Sheberle, Catherine Clark, Dr. Haavi Morreim, Dr. Milton Holloway and former state senator J.E. Brown.

The first day of the Orientation will focus on the issues surrounding public school finance reform, examining both taxes and spending.

The second day will be spent on a broad range of issues, with panels examining water policy, health care costs, transportation, insurance reform, asbestos litigation and telecommunications.

Limited seating is still available; individuals can view the full agenda and register online at